Have you learned it?

Oh! Yes!!!. Have you learned it? Or have you inherited it?. Confused?.

So many questions in a single line. I speak of religion here, I speak of Islam here. That’s the question to think of today. Have you learnt your religion or have you inherited it?. Many a times I come across people who have quite stopped the act of reasoning. All I hear is “That’s what my parents did”, That’s what my granny did”, That’s what my great-grandpa did”, and so on. Religion or theology is not something to be followed blindly, it’s not a legacy to be adopted. It is a thing to be learned, to be thought of, to be practiced and propagated.

1469441796200.jpg

I have observed, especially in India, there are blind beliefs followed in the name of religion. From my personal experience, a talkative aunt in my family told me the story of Shab-e-Baraat (the 15th night of Shabaan). She narrated to me what has been passed on to her— that the souls of the departed returned back to earth, or rather to their homes and hid behind the doors and stared with love at their family members :-P. I found it quite funny though, as I imagined my dead granny standing behind the door. But thanks to my father, he dismissed my notions of a horror film going on in the house. And at that time he taught me— to learn and believe in what the Quran and Hadiths have to say, and not what grannies and aunts have to say.

The true essence of religion is in learning it for yourself. Islam is not some property to be inherited from your ancestors. Islam is a beautiful religion to be learnt, loved and practiced. Take a bit of interest, and a little more effort to build up a strong emaan. Do it for yourself. Validate any belief before accepting it. In this age of technology all you need is a genuine app to validate your beliefs and dogmas passed on to you. And needless to say, there is no guidance better than the holy Quran and the Hadiths. 🙂

“The seeking of knowledge is obligatory for every Muslim”.
                                                                                                               (Al-Tirmidhi)

One thought on “Have you learned it?

  1. Pingback: The emaan nourishing series. – Hubbhalal

Have your say!!!

